WIP Wednesday

In March I joined up with a modern quilting group on Facebook for a round robin quilting bee. There are six ladies in our group, all much more experienced quilters than I. We were each tasked at making a center medallion and then starting May 1, send it on to the next individual in our group. We have two months to add a border of our choosing to the medallion and then we pass it along and receive the next quilt.

This is the first round and I have been lucky to get to work on this fantastic medallion. It uses beautiful sea glass colored batiks and is off set by the brilliant white fabric. Her inspiration is the sandy beaches of the Jersey Shore and intends for the finished quilt to be used at the home they intend to purchase near the ocean after retirement.

20140611-171640-62200776.jpg

Thankfully, the batiks and other sea glass colored fabric was included in the package my partner sent, so I’ve had great colors to utilize. The inspiration for my border has been picturing sand dunes and imagining carefree children on the beach in white linen dresses and pinwheels blowing in the breeze.

I practiced some HST piecing using scraps first and played with the layouts. My friend Laura has been very helpful since she’s actually spent many a summer on the boardwalk in New Jersey, and all I know about it comes from Snooki and JWow.

20140611-172148-62508133.jpg

20140611-172149-62509605.jpg

So, during a child free weekend thanks to a trip to see Nana and Papa Kitty, I decided on the color scheme and cut, sewed, and trimmed 160 2″ HST, while the hubby and I binge watched Season 2 of Orange is the New Black. This is the first one completed

20140611-172511-62711128.jpg

I’ve got 8 more to sew together before I tackle some flying geese to add in the mix. Can’t wait to get it all added! Hopefully I’ll be further along next Wednesday. Check back!

 

Linking up with:

WIP Wednesday at Freshly Pieced

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “WIP Wednesday

    • I signed up at the very last minute (like 10 minutes to go, LOL!). As a newer quilter I figured it would be a great way to learn some new skills and expand my comfort zone. Thankfully these ladies are taking me under their wings!

Leave a Reply

